Destiny 2 Servers Down For Maintenance [Update: Now Back Online With New Patch]

Update 2: Destiny 2 is now back online following the maintenance period. Bungie has also released the new 1.0.3 patch, which prepares the game for the launch of Faction Rallies. The original story follows.

Destiny 2 players looking to get stuck into some shootin’ and lootin’ today may want to keep in mind that servers for Bungie’s popular shooter will be going offline for maintenance. The downtime is scheduled to begin at 6 AM PT / 2 PM BST / 11 PM AEST on September 25, and players won’t be able to sign in to the game from that point. [Update: Servers are now offline and will not return as soon as expected. Bungie announced on Twitter that the maintenance period has been extended until 2 PM PT.]

An hour later, anyone that is already logged in to Destiny 2 will be kicked off, so plan your in-game activities accordingly; you don’t want to get the boot while in a raid. Servers will undergo maintenance for a total of six hours.

The maintenance comes ahead of Faction Rallies being added to Destiny 2 on September 26. Following the weekly reset, players will be able to pledge themselves to Dead Orbit (represented by Arach Jalaal), Future War Cult (Lakshmi-2), and New Monarchy (Executor Hideo), and gather supplies for their chosen faction. 

We’re still digging deep into Destiny 2, but if you’re new to the series there are some basic things you should know.